Washington Insight – July 2014

In This Issue:

– Progress Toward Comprehensive Patent Reform Stalls

– As Attention Turns to a Border Supplemental, a Twelve Bill Omnibus Seems Certain

– Highways, Taxes, and Partisanship: The Next Crisis

– Senate Intelligence Committee Approves Cybersecurity Bill

– You May Not Know: Congress Issues Subpoenas, But Also Receives Them

– Terrorism Risk Insurance: To Be Continued?

– Excerpt from – Progress Toward Comprehensive Patent Reform Stalls:

On May 21, 2014, Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy (D-VT) announced that he was removing patent reform legislation from the Committee’s agenda, effectively eliminating any chance for Senate consideration this year. While a comprehensive bill might be off the table, it is still possible that Congress could take up and pass legislation to address abusive patent litigation behavior before the end of the year.

Patent Demand Letter Legislation –

Earlier this month, the House Energy & Commerce Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade approved the Targeting Rogue and Opaque Letters Act of 2014 (“TROL Act”), legislation to prevent the issuance of fraudulent patent demand letters. Efforts to address this form of abusive patent litigation behavior have continued to gain significant traction among business and consumer stakeholder groups, and multiple states have already taken legislative action in the past year. According to the TROL Act’s author, Subcommittee Chairman Lee Terry (R-NE), the bill provides the following protections for demand letter recipients: 1) It requires the sender to provide enough information for the recipient to appropriately respond; and 2) It bars the sender from making false or misleading statements. Given the initial positive feedback the bill has received from Members, as well as a broad array of stakeholder groups, it is possible that the TROL Act could be considered and approved by the full House Energy & Commerce Committee before the August recess, paving the way for House floor consideration in the Fall.

Please see full Newsletter below for more information.

 Download PDF

Theodore M. Hester
thester@kslaw.com
+1 202 626 2901
Thomas J. Spulak
tspulak@kslaw.com
+1 202 661 7948
J.C. Boggs
jboggs@kslaw.com
+1 202 626 2383

Eleanor J. Hill
ehill@kslaw.com
+ 202 626 2955
Daniel F. Donovan
ddonovan@kslaw.com
+ 202 661 7815
George C. Crawford
gcrawford@kslaw.com
+ 202 626 2625

Allison F. Kassir
akassir@kslaw.com
+ 202 626 5600
Claudia A. Hrvatin
chrvatin@kslaw.com
+ 202 661 7950
William Clarkson
wclarkson@kslaw.com
+ 202 626 8977

Bill C. Talmadge
btalmadge@kslaw.com
+ 202 626 2937
Lauren M. Donoghue
ldonoghue@kslaw.com
+ 202 626 8999
Greg H. N. Massoni
gmassoni@kslaw.com
+ 202 661 9711

Editorial Contact

Lauren Donoghue
th
ldonoghue@kslaw.com
+1 202 626 8999
Follow @WSHInsight
About King & Spalding
Celebrating more than 125 years of service, King & Spalding is an international law firm
that represents a broad array of clients, including half of the Fortune Global 100, with 800
lawyers in 17 offices in the United States, Europe, the Middle East and Asia. The firm has
handled matters in over 160 countries on six continents and is consistently recognized for
the results it obtains, uncompromising commitment to quality and dedication to
understanding the business and culture of its clients. More information is available at
www.kslaw.com.
The content of this publication and any attachments are not intended to be and should not be
relied upon as legal advice. In some jurisdictions, this may be considered “Attorney
Advertising.” If you are not currently on our Government Advocacy & Public Policy Practice
Group mailing list under your own name, and you would like to join to receive our
Washington Insight publication and to receive notices of future programs and occasional
notices of legal developments in the industry, or wish to be taken off the distribution list for
this Newsletter, you can make that request by submitting your contact information to Lauren
Donoghue at ldonoghue@kslaw.com.
© 2014 King & Spalding

Download PDF[42KB]
Email
Report

Note close

Firefox recommends the PDF Plugin for Mac OS X for viewing PDF documents in your browser.

We can also show you Legal Updates using the Google Viewer; however, you will need to be logged into Google Docs to view them.

Please choose one of the above to proceed!

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.