House Republicans Elect McCarthy and Scalise to Leadership Posts

Earlier today, Republicans elected Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) over Rep. Raul Labrador (R-ID)— via secret ballot—to serve as their next majority leader. McCarthy, the current majority whip, is serving his fourth term in Congress thereby making him the fastest-rising majority leader in history. McCarthy can be expected to assume the leader’s traditional duties and responsibilities, including coordinating the legislative and oversight work of the House committees and, in consultation with the Speaker, the floor schedule.

House Republicans also elected Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA) as majority whip. Scalise, the current chairman of the House Republican Study Committee, received a majority of the House Republican Conference’s vote on the first ballot. He defeated Reps. Peter Roskam (R-IL), current chief deputy whip, and Marlin Stutzman (R-IN). Speculation now turns to Scalise’s pick for chief deputy whip—a position which often serves as a non-elected jump into leadership, as evidenced by both Roy Blunt (R-MO) and Cantor. As majority whip, Scalise—who will continue to serve on the Energy and Commerce Committee—will rally support amongst his Republican colleagues for key votes.

Please see full alert below for more information.

 Download PDF

Download PDF[100KB]

Note close

Firefox recommends the PDF Plugin for Mac OS X for viewing PDF documents in your browser.

We can also show you Legal Updates using the Google Viewer; however, you will need to be logged into Google Docs to view them.

Please choose one of the above to proceed!

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.