Governor Signs Law to boost Massachusetts Minimum Wage
What you need to know:
Governor Deval Patrick lately signed legislation that will heighten the Massachusetts minimum wage from the current $8 each hour to $11 each hour within the next 3 years. The very first increase, to $9 each hour, will occur on The month of january 1, 2015.
What you need to do:
Companies should know the effective dates for that minimum wage boosts and be sure their compensation is within compliance using the new law.
On June 26, Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick signed right into a law a stride that will heighten the minimum wage rate for Massachusetts employees to $11 each hour by 2017, which makes it the greatest minimum wage rate presently considered by condition in the united states. The increases are anticipated to affect roughly 500,000 employees over the condition.
The present minimum wage in Massachusetts is $8 each hour. The very first increase, raising the minimum wage to $9 each hour, will work on The month of january 1, 2015. The minimum wage rate will rise to $10 on The month of january 1, 2016 and also to $11 on The month of january 1, 2017. There aren’t any provisions in position to tie subsequent minimum wage increases to inflation, which Governor Patrick had searched for along with other states have implemented.
Even though many workers are already compensated more than the amount set by these increases, companies in Massachusetts should review their compensation programs to make sure that by the start of 2015, they’re submission using the relevant wage rates for those employees.